Tags

, , , , ,

Winter has come early here in Latvia- usually we do not get snow before my birthday in mid November . But we have had it since the beginning of the month here and soup season has officially started in my book.

I love having soup and fresh bread and have already made that meal twice this week. Having a new baby makes soup an easy reheatable leftovers meal and I sure appreciate that now with four kids đŸ™‚

I was very excited to snag a new soup magazine at the store last week with 50 recipes to try- they look easy and practical. I adapted this one and am translating it into English for you here with my notes.

This recipe is from the Ievas Magazine Soups- November edition

Ingredients:

400 g tomato pieces in juice (I used 700 g of frozen tomatoes)

200 ml. water or broth ( I used a bit more. I also added a few tablespoons of tomato sauce/paste I had open)

300 g. ground beef

1 stalk of celery chopped

1 onion chopped

1 clove of garlic, chopped

2 carrots, grated

150 g. frozen peas ( I used green beans instead because that is what i have and my kids prefer beans over peas)

1 small zucchini grated

1 egg

1t.balsamic vinegar

3 T. bread crumbs

Salt, pepper, garlic powder (my edition)

Sour cream, dill, green onions for garnish

Method:

  1. Chop veges and cook in a bit of oil (not including beans or peas)
  2. Add tomatoes and water or broth.Boil about 30 min till tomatoes start to dissolve.
  3. While the soup is boiling prepare meatballs. Mix meat, salt, pepper, bread crumbs and egg.Stir or mix with hands to make a well blended mass.
  4. When soup has boiled 30 min- remove from heat and use a hand blender or stand blender to puree. Be careful- this is HOT.
  5. Return to boiling and drop meatballs into broth, add frozen peas or beans. Cook for at least 10 min. more until meatballs are thoroughly cooked.
  6. Serve and garnish.

My older kids; ages 8 and 6 and my husband and I really enjoyed this soup. My 4 year old always turns up his nose at soup- but did eat it in the end. I liked that I snuck the zucchini into their stomachs without them knowing.

Let me know how you like this soup!

Stay warm and enjoy your day!

What kind of soup do you LOVE?

